Rains, English Vinglish and Shah Rukh Khan

The weather’s changed here. October to March marks the wet season and with the exception of yesterday, we’ve had showers every evening since October began… exactly between 6.0 pm and 7.30 pm 🙂 . Now that’s the predictability for you. The weathermen here would never go wrong.. 🙂 . So here am I, at my ‘favouritest’ place in this house – the balcony, ready with a mug full of hot chocolate, and a Rahat Fateh Ali Khan song playing on my laptop. Its 5.45 pm already and the sky looks dark enough, cool breeze has started blowing…my plants are swaying now…and it feels really wonderful. 🙂

I hope though that the rains don’t last long. We shall be leaving soon, to watch ‘English Vinglish’ at Grand Indonesia and knowing the Jakarta traffic, to reach before show time (8.30 pm), we probably might have to leave within next hour. I know I am going to love this movie already. Not because Sri Devi starrs in it or anything…its a movie of an underdog. And I am a sucker for underdog stories… This must be the umpteenth time I’ll be watching a film after marriage. To think of it, the total movies I watched after my marriage (including TV/Laptop/Theatre) would exceed the number of films I have watched all these years before my marriage (TV/laptop/theatre), though that shouldnt surprise me in the least. This happens with most of the couples I guess.But as far as I knew myself, I wouldn’t describe myself a movie goer. While there are many entertainment options here, Bollywood offers a cost-effective way of entertainment. Moreover, in Jakarta, a surprising number of theatres show Hindi movies. Many locals too are interested in Bollywood and wherever I tell people, that I am an Indian (because they mostly seem to take me for a Moroccan for some strange reason. That is a topic for a very amusing post 😉 ) – they always talk about Bollywood and in particular Shah Rukh Khan who had visited Indonesia it seems. Many of the cabbies even have Bollywood songs with them to play and a cabbie actually owned video of Kuch Kuch Hota Hain songs – which he promptly played in my honour when I told him I was from India. ;). I didn’t have it in my heart to tell him that I in fact am not much of a Shah Rukh Khan fan  🙂 (for that matter, I don’t have any Bollywood idol. Nor that I have any Hollywood idol…thought it better to clarify)   In fact people loved Kuch Kuch Hota Hain so much that many Indonesians I know have some or other favourite moment from the movie.An Indonesian friend told me  – hers was when Kajol touches Amitabh Bachchan’s feet and he accepts her as his daughter – in – law…. I on the other hand, have not actually watched that movie…. though guess sooner or later, that too will change….at this rate….

4 thoughts on “Rains, English Vinglish and Shah Rukh Khan

  1. Kuch kuch hota hai doesn’t have Amitabh. Are you talking about kabhi khushi kabhi ghum? When Vinit and I were in a restaurant in Bali, the singers in a live band sang a few lines from “koi mil gaya” for us. We were very intrigued. Imagine, SRK a phenomena in Indonesia! Lol

  2. Hello Pradnya and Swapnil’s,
    Thank you for visiting my blog :), there is some teaching activity in ganesha vinayaka temple jakarta next week. If you interest i can send you the detail.

    Greet
    Mareta

Leave a Reply

